It's All Relative!

How I Organize Evernote: A Peek Inside My Personal System

Leave a comment

A few months ago I decided to finally give Evernote a try in my never-ending attempt to organize my genealogy and I’ve been slowly but surely using it to get all my digital files organized. I have found some limitations with it however, mainly the inability to nest notebooks and stacks. This repost is a great article explaining the importance of tagging your notes and using tags to get around the nesting issue. I’ve already played around with it a bit today and I’m loving it so far!

Eastman's Online Genealogy Newsletter

A few weeks ago, I wrote a Plus Edition article entitled (+) My Method of Filing Digital Images and Documents. It is still available at http://eogn.com/wp/?p=32196. In the article, I described the system I use for organizing digital photographs and all sorts of other documents on my computer’s hard drive and in online backups.

I was planning to write a similar article about organizing all sorts of information within Evernote, one of the handiest programs available for genealogists and for millions of other computer users as well. However, when researching the article on the World Wide Web, I found that Michael Hyatt had already written an article about that and his methods are similar to my own. He doesn’t write about genealogy uses of Evernote but most of what he writes applies to genealogy as well as to thousands of other topics.

View original post 108 more words

Leave a Reply

